Not Your Everyday News

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

New Dollar Coins

As a coin collector, I am always on the lookout for news, something
different, just anything concerning coins. So when the announcement
about the new presidential dollar coins came out, I sat up and took
notice. Starting next year, the U.S. Mint will put out 4 different dollar
coins a year, each with a different president. The presidents will be
presented in the order that they served, so obviously George
Washington will be on the first coin. Basically, it is a copy of the
quarter program. Starting with Delaware in 1999, the mint has put out
5 different state quarters a year, in the order that each became a state.
So we get the states in order, now soon also the presidents. If anything,
at least some folks will learn that Martin Van Buren was our 8th presi-
dent, Franklin Pierce our 14th, Chester Arthur the 21st, and Warren
Harding the 29th. Just a few of the lesser knowns in presidential history!
As a coin collector I am excited about the new coins coming out, but as
a consumer, less than thrilled. Every dollar coin has been a failure since
the old silver dollars were discontinued. The Ikes were too big and heavy.
The Susan B. Anthony's were practically the same size as the quarter, so
too confusing. The gold Sacajawea flopped with yet another thud. These
presidential coins will have the very same result. As long as there are
paper dollars around, there will NEVER be any use for a coin dollar. The
U.S. Mint will definitely make some money off collectors, but if they
think this will steer folks away from currency, they are in fantasyland.
So let's hope that at least the coins are good looking enough for our
albums, because that is about the only place we are likely to see them!


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Millard Filmore! (I think the Filmore in SanFran was named after him!)

3:13 AM, November 21, 2006  
Blogger lilredpro5 said...

ole Millard, I believe he is #13, another
no-name prez!

10:24 AM, November 21, 2006  

Post a Comment

<< Home